Standing dramatically on a strategic height that commands a crossing on the River Nore and dominating the 'High Town' of the city, Kilkenny Castle today is a complex structure of various architectural styles offering a range of cultural facilities and public amenities.
Castle Park and Gardens
Situated in the heart of the city, Kilkenny Castle Park offers a uniquely relaxing setting against the hustle and bustle of the city. The park consists of 50 acres of charming and extensive pleasure grounds featuring mature trees and shrubs with an ornamental lake numbered among the many items of interest. To the front of the castle is the Rose Garden which has been designed in the shape of a Celtic High Cross with the castle at its peak.
Rothe House & Gardens
Located in the heart of Kilkenny City and situated at the mid point of the Medieval Mile is one of Irelands true hidden gems; Rothe House & Garden. The property, the only one of its type open to the public in Ireland, was once the home of wealthy merchant and politian John Rothe Fitzpiers, his wife Rose Archer and their eleven children. Constructed between 1594 and 1610 you are invited to wander and explore at your leisure; view the magnificent architecture, step through cobbled courtyards and take in the relaxed atmosphere of our extensive garden.
St. Candices Cathedral
St Canice’s Cathedral is one of the most prominent sights in Kilkenny, which was once a splendid Medieval city. Many believe the construction of the massive Gothic cathedral began in the 1250s and was completed in 1285, but the religious roots of the site extend back to the 6th Century, when the Church of St Canice stood here. Inside the cathedral, they can view the original font, or baptism receptacle, as well as St Kieran’s Chair, an ancient stone seat thought to contain part of the 5th Century bishop’s throne. The cathedral also houses the Great War Memorial List, a record of the names of Irishmen who lost their lives in the First World War.
The Parade Tower
Positioned at the base of the Parade tower is The Medieval Room. Features in the room include plunging arrow loops inserted in the massive walls that are indicative of the strongly defensive nature of the early castle. In the centre of the room is a stone pillar and re-used timbers dating from the later medieval period. During the nineteenth century remodeling of the castle the room was converted to use as a wine cellar. Today, this is where visitors can watch the free audio visual on Kilkenny Castle. This gives an extremely in-depth view into the history of the castle and the many important programmes of archaeological excavation, conservation, and restoration which has been carried out.
Sited with the castle itself is The Butler Gallery which exhibits the work of young and emerging artists alongside renowned international artists. They also manage and display the diverse Butler Collection so it can be exhibited and enjoyed by the public.
Shee Alms House
The Shee Alms House is a Tudor building dating from 1582. It was originally used by the church before lawyer Richard Shee, a wealthy merchant, bought it as a home for the poor. Originally it cared for 12 homeless people and continued in this purpose for 150 years. Today it is the Kilkenny Tourist Office which provides detailed information on accommodation, places of interest, festivals, events and activities nationwide. The building by its own merits is an attraction in itself and is well worth a visit.
One of the oldest churches in Kilkenny is the Black Abbey, which has served the community for the last 760 years. Formally known as the “Abbey of The Most Holy Trinity” its name alteration can be attributed to the Dominicans, who also became known as Black Friars, from the black cloak worn over the white habit, thus lending there name to the church. Items of interest at the church include a pre-reformation statue of St Dominic, a glass case beside the Altar with a sculpture in alabaster of the Most Holy Trinity, to whom the Abbey is consecrated, the great Rose window and 10 stone 13th or 14th century coffins found at the entrance way. The church is wheelchair accessible from the beautiful cobbled Abbey St laneway which borders the city wall and passes through the last remaining gateway.
Kells Priory is one of the largest and most impressive medieval monuments in County Kilkenny. It is an Augustine priory situated alongside King's River beside the village of Kells, about 15 km south of the medieval city of Kilkenny. The priory is a National Monument and is in the guardianship of the Office of Public Works. One of its most striking features is a collection of medieval tower houses spaced at intervals along and within walls which enclose a site of just over 3 acres. These give the priory the appearance more of a fortress than of a place of worship and make it a truly distinctive site. There is unlimited access to the public on the site, it is also important to note that as the site is not manned there are no tours or public toilets.
St Mary’s Church
Located in the centre of Gowran town, the church was built in the late 13th century on the site of an earlier monastery, St Mary’s Church was served by a "college" - clerics who lived in a community but who did not submit to the rule of a monastery. The church was a large and elaborate structure, with an aisled nave (the main part of the church where the congregation sat) and a long chancel (the section of the church where the altar was placed) and has high quality architectural sculpture used throughout. In the late middle ages a massive tower was inserted between the nave and chancel, and in the 19th century this tower was incorporated into the parish church which was built in place of the chancel and which now takes up about half of the building. There were also several other changes made to the church at various
Duiske Abbey & High Crosses, Graiguenamanagh
Located within the centre of Graiguenamanagh at the foot of Brandon Hill is Duiske Abbey, the largest and perhaps the finest of the thirty-four medieval Cistercian abbeys in Ireland. The abbey, which takes its name from the little river Duiske (Blackwater) which joins the Barrow here, was founded by William Marshall in 1204 and was suppressed by Henry VIII in 1536. The abbey's large "Early English" Gothic Church, was magnificently restored in the 1970s and in its northern aisle a model of the monastery shows the abbey as it was in the fourteenth century. Original medieval floor tiles from the building can be seen in the abbey along with the beautiful "Early English" gothic and Romanesque architecture. Some of the thirteenth-century stonework is still obvious; including still-leaf foliage carved into the capitals, dog-tooth ornaments and banded shafts. It also contains many Lancet windows and an effigy of a 13th century Norman knight found in the ruins which is currently installed by the main entrance. The Abbey is open to visitors but opening times may vary seasonally. Explanation plaques are at various points throughout the Abbey. Toilets are available in the nearby Abbey Centre.
Also of interest on the site are two granite high crosses in the graveyard to the south of the church dating to the 8th century, both of these crosses were brought here from elsewhere. The North Cross, came from Ballyogan, the iconography and design of this particular cross are clearly similar to the other crosses of the Barrow valley although slightly more primitive. The South Cross came from Aghakiltawn. Both crosses have a crucifixion scene on the west face. The North cross bears figure sculpture on the shaft, below the crucifixion is Adam and Eve below that is the sacrifice of Isaac and at the bottom of the shaft David with a harp. Geometric designs are featured on the north and south sides. Built into the wall of the Abbey is a Cross Slab, also in the abbey grounds is the base of a third cross.
Ahenny and Kilkieran High Crosses (Kilkenny/Tipperary border)
A high cross is a free-standing Christian cross made of stone and often richly decorated. They were raised primarily in Ireland during the Early Middle Ages.They often, though not always, feature a stone ring around the intersection, forming a Celtic Christian cross. High Crosses exist from the 7th century with the Ahenny and Kilkieran High Cross been some of the finest examples in the country. From Carrick-on-Suir take the R 697 north approximately six kilometres, then take the next right. Travel about two kilometres down this road to just past the church. Park at the church and the crosses (well sign-posted) are in a walled churchyard across a field. A couple of kilometres here are Kilkieran crosses which are well signposted.
Castlecomer Discovery Park is situated on grounds that once formed part of the Wandesforde family estate. It comprises 80 acres of mixed woodland in the south-east of Ireland, just 20km north of the medieval city of Kilkenny and 24km from Carlow town. Open all year round, it is an ideal location for a family day out or for bus tours and groups offering various attractions, many of which are free to the public.
Kilkenny Road Train Tours
Sit back, relax in comfort and let the train bring you to many spectacular buildings and places that Kilkenny has to offer. Hear all about the sights on this fully narrated tour and sing along to many favourite traditional songs and music played onboard. Starting from Kilkenny Castle the tour will take you through the streets of Kilkenny, along the way you'll see many historical sights including St. Canices Cathedral, St. Francis Abbey Brewery, The Old Court Houss and many, many more. Meander along the picturesque lanes and streets of Kilkenny and let us take you on a nostalgic journey reminiscent of the gone steam train.
The Canal Walk
Starting at the Canal Square on Rose Inn Street, the Canal walk begins with a new City pavilion with benches overlooking the Rivercourt hotel, in the shadow of the imposing Kilkenny Castle. This romantic walk takes you along the old canal, shaded by tall trees and old mills. The walk will eventually take you for miles into the countryside following the course of the River Nore towards the picturesque town of Inistioge.
Newpark Marsh is a fen which was once a lake and became colonised by reeds and floating vegetation, such as pondweed. It is a diverse habitat with open water, tussocks of sedge and a rich variety of wild plants, including Ragged Robin, Lady's Smock, Yellow Iris, Yellow and Purple Loosestrife. The fen is situated about two kilometres north-east of Kilkenny, off the Castlecomer Road, a short distance from Newpark Hotel. It is classified as a valley fen and designated as an Area of Scientific Interest and a proposed Natural Heritage Area (NHA). Woodland adjoining the fen beside Kilkenny College is part of the wetland system and is included within the NHA.
Woodstock Garden & Arboretum
Woodstock Gardens are located in the south east of Kilkenny just outside the picturesque village of Inistioge overlooking the River Nore Valley. The gardens are home to a mix of formal and informal gardens with an arboretum, walled garden, terraced garden, yew walk and rose garden providing the main interest. Also of significance are two stunning avenues, the Monkey Puzzle Avenue and Noble Fir Avenue. Recently added are a rustic summer house, constructed from materials from the gardens and a fountain to replace the original fountain. The arboretum is home to many fine specimen trees from Asia and South America in particular are recognised as champion trees due to their size. On site facilities include toilets, children’s playground, limited wheelchair access (mobility buggy available at quieter times) and tea rooms.
Arts & Crafts
MADE in Kilkenny Craft Trail
Kilkenny, has long had the reputation for being a hub of creativity, and has earned the name “The Creative Heart of Ireland”. MADE in Kilkenny was formed to foster this excellence in crafts, to encourage the growth of the professional craft industry and to promote the county as a shopping destination for authentic, handmade craft in Ireland. It also aims to encourage a pleasant day out visiting the various craft shops amongst Kilkenny’s scenic countryside and historical city. A brochure has been specifically designed to with this purpose in mind, it highlights various designer-makers, and a map to help you find them. Further information is also available on www.madeinkilkenny.ie
National Craft Gallery
Located in the former Kilkenny castle stable courtyard, the opening of the National Craft Gallery in 2000 marked a new era for the Crafts Council of Ireland, providing a new and permanent exhibition space for craft in Kilkenny. Over the years the gallery has evolved and grown to meet the needs of the craft industry and to ensure its continued growth and development. It has a dynamic exhibition programme and practical training programme on site that are open daily free to the public.
Visit Nicholas Mosses Mills in Bennetsbridge, see the dedicated room in the Mill for visitors to discover the history of the Mill, of the Pottery and the local surrounding area. Central to this experience, is the viewing windows. From the shop, visitors can watch potters and decorators at work through glass windows; see potters and decorators throw the shapes, fire up the kiln, glaze, paint and sponge-decorate each individual piece of Nicholas Mosse pottery by hand.
The Famine Memorial and Good Shed Square
The Famine Experience is located within the grounds of the newly developed MacDonagh Junction
James Hoban Memorial
Hoban Memorial was constructed in 2008 to honour the 250th Anniversary of the birth of James Hoban (1758 - 1831), architect of 'The White House'. Located at Desart, Cuffesgrange, close to the birthplace of James Hoban, the memorial arbour, which incorporates a 'Spirit of Place' was erected by architecture students from the Catholic University of Washington DC and local craftsmen. The structure is 30 meters long and 3 meters high, is impressive, modern and well worth a visit.
Gairdin na Ghorta, The Garden of Remembrance
Located in the beautiful village of Newmarket near Knocktopher, the 150th Anniversary Famine Commemorative Garden is open all year round with free admission to the public. The area in front of the Thatched Heritage House is known as Garraí na bPrátaí (The Potato Garden). It also doubles up as a picnic area and is a very popular venue for photographs, group photos and personal ones.